Welcome to our Parish

There are two churches in our parish.

St Joseph's, Goole and Sacred Heart, Howden

Father Nigel Barr lives at 1 Buttfield Road, Howden, DN14 7DW. Tel 01430 430245

St Joseph's
Pasture Road
Goole, DN14 6DP

Leeds Diocese logo

Sacred Heart
Buttfield Road,
Howden, DN14 7DW

Go back Donate

Preparation for First Sacraments 2021-2022


In the Diocese of Leeds children are normally prepared for Reconciliation (Confession) in Year 3, for First Holy Communion in Year 4 and for Confirmation in Year 5. Because of COVID-19 there have been disruptions to the preparation programme. Now, in September 2021, we are resuming preparations. Details of sessions for both churches in the parish are given below.

There will be more detail about the preparation procedure at the bottom soon. Dates for the reception of the sacraments are not yet known, but will be posted here as soon.as possible.

ST JOSEPH'S CHURCH. All sessions are at St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Kenndiy Drive, Goole, DN14 6HQ from 6.15pm - 7.00pm. .

Dates of Sessions

First Reconciliation 2021

Session 1. Thankfulness. Thursday 16th September

Session 2. Honesty and Bravery. Thursday 30th September

Session 3. Reflection. Thursday 14th October

Session 4. Friendship and Respect. Thursday 11th November

Session 5. Love and Forgiveness. Thursday 25th November

First Holy Communion 2022

Session 1. Faith. Thursday 3rd February

Session 2. Hope. Thursday 17th February

Session 3. Love. Thursday 3rd March

Session 4. Stillness. Thursday 17th March

Session 5. Generosity & Gratitude. Thursday 31st March

Session 6. Food for the Journey. Thursday 7th April

Session 7. Reflection. Thursday 28th April

Rehearsal    5th May 

SACRED HEART CHURCH. All sessions are at the church, 1 Buttfield Road, Howden,DN14 7DW, straight after the 9.30am Mass until 11.30 or just before.

Dates of Sessions

First Reconciliation  2021

Session 1. Thankfulness. Sunday 19th September

Session 2. Honesty and Bravery. Sunday 3rd October

Session 3. Reflection. Sunday 17th October

Session 4. Friendship and Respect. Sunday 14th November

Session 5. Love and Forgiveness. Sunday 28th November

First Holy Communion 2022

Session 1. Faith. Sunday 6th  February

Session 2. Hope. Sunday 20th  February

Session 3. Love. Sunday 6th March

Session 4. Stillness. Sunday 20th March

Session 5. Generosity & Gratitude. Sunday 3rd April

Session 6. Food for the Journey. Sunday 10th April

Session 7. Reflection. Sunday 30th April

Rehearsal tba