The Seven Sacraments

(All content on this page by Aileen Urquhart)

Sacraments are clear signs that Jesus has given us. They point to an inner reality. There are seven sacraments, and each one signifies a different grace and blessing.


This is the first Sacrament. It is the way of initiation into the Church. In Baptism, water and oils are used as symbols of what is happening. Water is life-giving, and this sacrament is a sign of the life of God within us. Oil symbolises our noble status as children of God. Kings and queens are annointed, and so are priests. Batpism makes us 'a royal priesthood.'As water is  poured over the head of the recipient the priest says the words, '(Name) I baptise you, in the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.'


Infant baptism is the norm these days, and Fr Nigel will prepare the parents. The baptism usually takes place on a Sunday afternoon. When adults wish to be baptised they have a longer preparation period, as they prepare for Reconciliation, Communion and Confirmation at the same time.

water and sky

I chose this photo, not only because of the water, but because of the reflections. We are children of God, and our mission is to reflect God's love to a lost world.


Although normally the third sacrament received by Christians Confirmation is actually the second sacrament of initiation. This is because historically it was administered by the bishop straight after baptism. It is not a sacrament of maturity, but at the same time it is an opportunity for young people to take responsibilty for the vows made on their behalf when they were baptised. The outward sign of chrism (oil) is used again, (see Baptism, above) and the sacrament signifies a fresh outpouring of the Spirit of God, with all the Spirit's gifts (and responsibilities).


In the Diocese of Leeds the Sacrament of Confirmation is now administered to children in school year 6.

The preparation programme for 2019-2020 is now over. Thee is a rehearsal for the six confirmandi on Friday 17th January 2020 at 7.30pm in St Joseph's Church.

Bishop Marcus will confirm the candidates on Wednesday 22nd January at 7.00pm in St Mary's Church, Gowthorpe, Selby.

Please pray for the following confirmandi -



poppies in field

I chose this photo as poppies are symbols of bravery and devotion in England, and the seeds remind me of the new life that comes from sacrifice and commitment.


This is the final sacrament of initiation into the church. It is called a daily sacrament as it is received again and again. In this sacrament we receive Jesus, to strengthen us in love. Jesus comes to us under the appearances of bread and wine. When we receive the bread we can remember Jesus helps us in our daily toil. The wine reminds us that we are united with Jesus in the joys of life, and also that we 'drink the cup of sorrow' with him in our low times.


From 2018 children are to be prepared when they are in Year Four or above. Parents will prepare their child alongside the catechist. For up-to-date details look at this page

no photo yet

I chose this photo as......(to be chosen!